Moon Taxi: Mountains Beaches Cities

While everyone is talking about Trey Anastasio sitting in with Further over this past weekend (or as I like to call it, Phurther), I’m sitting here all excited about the 3rd album release for my favorite Nashvillian rock band, Moon Taxi. If you haven’t heard of Moon Taxi, it’s not too late to hop on the bandwagon and enjoy the ride. This quintet formed at Belmont University in 2006 and has grown from a small college band, to having now rocked out festivals like Bonnaroo, Lollapallooza, Forecastle, Hangout, and our very own Summer Camp. If you caught the Umphrey’s McGee NYE run last year, you likely were blown away by Moon Taxi’s opening set on the 30th.

Although a short album (under 40 minutes), what it lacks in quantity is made up for in quality. The theme of Mountains Beaches Cities revolves around traveling and exploration, made obvious by the album and track titles. As a whole, the album offers impressive rock beats to jam out to, while also finding a balance with catchy lyrics to sing along with. This successful musical blend offers a wide range of appeal for Moon Taxi which is sure to translate to more growth for the band going forward.

All of the tracks were new to me, save for one, Change, which was debuted on tour in 2012. With that bias, Change is my favorite track on the album, although Running Wild and Morocco both immediately got stuck in my head. The New Black and Young Journey both excite me for live versions to see what sort of improvisation will emerge from it. Overall great album and highly recommended for music fans everywhere!

Track Listing:

  1. Running Wild (
  2. Morocco
  3. The New Black (
  4. Change
  5. Young Journey
  6. Beaches
  7. River Water
  8. Suspicious
  9. Struck Me Down
  10.  Juniper

Not apart of the album, but I wouldn’t feel right if I wrote a blog about Moon Taxi with including one of my all time favorite YouTube videos. Seriously, check out Wes Bailey rage your face off with his keyboard skills.

Ride the Moon Taxi on tour!

Order the album now!